A check before buying Smart Shooter 4

Hallo from a total newbie.

After years of use of video cameras attached to microscopes (easily controlled via USB), I discovered that I need a larger APS sensor, with wider sensor pixels than those in my professional microscope video camera.

But I still need to activate image capture from the keyboard, as I always did. I also control a self-made automated Z-stage from the keyboard.

For those reasons I’m in the process of buying an used Canon EOS 550D and - most probably, depending on the answers that I will receive - Smart Shooter 4 to make my first attempts at tethered macrophotography with a photo camera body.

So, here are my two questions:

• do I need a special kind of USB cable for Smart Shooter 4 to work? Or does any USB cable (as the one pictured in attachment) work?
  • I would like to activate the Mirror Lockup feature to limit shaking of the microscope stand. If I do, to capture an image does it suffice for me to click the Smart Shooter 4 capture icon twice, as I would do with a physical remote (first click: raise mirror, second click: shoot)??

Many thanks and all the best to everyone!

I now have the camera and checked - using this cable, tethering works perfectly with Canon EOS Utility. I suppose that Smart Shooter 4 doesn’t need a different cable.

You just need a regular USB cable. Canon usually supply one in the box with the camera, so you can use that one.

Regarding mirror-lockup mode; as you know, when mirror-lockup is enabled, you normally need to press the camera’s shutter button twice - first to raise the mirror, and then to activated the shutter.

The “Shoot” button in Smart Shooter is NOT able to control that sequence. So when mirror-lockup is enabled, the app will disable the “Shoot” button.